Fitting the Pieces Together

• Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?

I initially thought my learning was controlled by the left brain vs. the right brain of learning and through hands on learning. I have since learned that there really is not a left brain vs. right brain way of learning but there are different ways of hands on learning as well as many different ways and theories of learning.

• What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

I believe that, like all learners, that I dabble in a little bit of all of the learning theories when I am learning. I lean more towards the cognitive theory because it is more hands on type of learning. I found that social learning was difficult because I was not sure of what I had learned. I can be a little introverted so I would think that would also contributed to not being a social learner, but I found it was easier to comment on someone’s discussion on an electronic board than it would have been to raise my hand in a physical classroom.

• What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

During my tenure working in a higher education learning lab I learned how to work with search engines and how to word what I am searching for. This has somewhat helped me in searching for information in my graduate class.
I found that reading materials on the computer was complex for me. I need the old technology of hard copy vs. reading the text on the computer screen. For small amount of information I can read it from a computer screen, but for large amounts of information I need flip back and forth on what I’m reading, highlighting important bits of information and sometimes making notes. Yet, I can easily record my information and thought process on the computer without having to print reams of copies to edit and rewrite. I did find that the Learning Theories Matrix assignment was difficult to keep track of until I broke it down into smaller bits by putting two theories on one page instead of six.
I still find all of the learning theories mind boggling and felt that they often went in circles, though that could have been my mind being boggled and going into a circle. In the final hour I did find a website that helped to explain it better a little bit better than all the papers, books and articles I went through. If you find your head swimming with learning theories also then go to http://www.editgrid.com/user/flopro/Learning_Theories_Matrix. Ms. Jones did a very nice job on her Learning theories Matrix.

Leave a Reply

