Connectivism

mymap

This is my learning map.

• How has your network changed the way you learn?

The school section of my learning map has changed the way I learn. I included internet as a separate leg as well for school. The reason for this is because I have used the internet for learning, but not for classroom learning. When I got my undergraduate degree the internet was not considered a reliable source for learning. As learning has become more digital and classes are being posted as well as student’s assignments I think that the internet has become more of a reliable source for learning.

• Which digital tools best facilitate learning for you?

I am not sure how to answer this question.

• How do you gain new knowledge when you have questions?

I used to ask people, who were more knowledgeable, consult books and take classes. Sometimes, depending on the question, I would check the internet for answers. Now I am learning to research the internet more as well as asking people who are more knowledgeable and consult books. I am learning how to look at the information I am finding on the internet and compare it with what would be considered a reliable source and determine how reliable the internet source is.

• In what ways does your personal learning network support or refute the central tenets of connectivism?

According to Siemens, “New information is continually being acquired and the ability to draw distinctions between important and unimportant information is vital” (Davis, Edmunds, & Kelly-Bateman, 2012). My personal learning network supports connectivism. It has moved to the digital age where there is no delay in a book or a periodical article being researched and written then published. As soon as the research and writing is done the information is published on the internet. There is too much to find so one must create a network to help find all of the information needed.

Leave a Reply

